Working from home

When someone says “I work from home” normally you think of direct sellers. Avon, Mary Kay or ladies who wear too much jewelry from Fifth Avenue so they are a walking billboard. Okay maybe that’s the “older” generation of home business… Now it seems like everyone and their dog sells health and wellness products, Skinny Fiber, It Works, even spray tanners are direct selling out of the home. I work from home, but what I do is a little different then what most people think.

I’ve been running my own hand crafted goods business for about 2 years now. It feels like a life time, I remember starting out to keep my daughter “in style” with all the things the cool kids were wearing. Little flower clips, bows and headbands. I didn’t have the cash to drop on it when they cost $10-$15 per flower!!! To this day I charge under $5 for a bow, flower or special headband. Many other “boutique” ladies probably hate me… But staying true to my original business plan and idea is important to me.

Even my husband feels I don’t charge enough sometimes. But as I’ve said – I started out to be affordable for myself and my fellow stay at home moms who didn’t have a ton of money to spend on a bow.

Since starting my business my “garden” has grown to include what feels like a million different things.

I now carry bows, flowers, headbands, Baltic Amber teething necklaces and bracelets, Mommy and Me jewelry, bottle cap EVERYTHING! Lanyards… I could seriously sit here for hours listing what I create from scratch and sell.

With the baby coming soon I worry I won’t be able to keep up with my orders. I am hoping the Youngling is like the Padawan and sleeps well quickly. That will allow me my crafting time! I only work at night when the Padawan goes to sleep. So I have a habit of staying up way too late often!

This is one reason I haven’t been updating my blog as often as I was. But hopefully that will change… In a perfect world I will have enough time to be a great Mom, business owner and keep it up as a writer!

Leave a Reply

